Home PageSite Map

Whitbread Race
----------------------------- red rule ------------------------------
Cayard Aims to Build Lead on Leg 4

EF Language EF Language Winning Leg 3
SYDNEY, Australia (Jan. 3, 1998) — Paul Cayard has his sights set on increasing his 35-point lead in the Whitbread Round the World Race for the Volvo Trophy in Leg 4, which begins Sunday, January 4, at 1:30 p.m. Sydney Eastern Summer Time (0230 GMT and Saturday, January 3, at 6:30 p.m. Pacific Standard Time).

However, he also is realistic in knowing that the 1,270 nautical-mile hop across the Tasman Sea to Auckland, New Zealand, is likely to involve tight racing and a close finish.

"Obviously, as it is a shorter leg, the fleet will stay together. I guess I assume it is going to be very close in terms of distance to the finish," Cayard said. "I think that our boat is a very good all-round boat and the speed will help us when we race side by side. I don't really know what to expect, but I expect we will do pretty well.

"However, I can imagine a scenario where the finish is like Sydney and we could come in seventh," he added. "We will just have to take every moment for what it is and try to make the best of each situation."

Cayard also said that his New Year's Resolution is "to get more sleep."

The weather is forecast to be a light easterly, which means the boats will be sailing upwind at the beginning. This leg is expected to take five days to complete.

Check back tomorrow for Cayard's daily reports from EF Language.

Related articles and links:



HOME PORT | WHITBREAD | PHOTOS

Web site sponsored by:
Official Sponsors
Hewlett-Packard Company

Official Suppliers
Ernst & Young | Exponent, Inc. | Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
Grey Advertising | Korn/Ferry Int'l | Volvo Penta| SAIC

Team Suppliers
Altair Computing | Black Mountain Spring Water
Chesapeake Decision Sciences | Hornblower Yachts, Inc.
PowerBar | Trimble | West Marine


Copyright © 1998, AmericaOne