Home PageSite Map

Blake, Coutts Among Five to Be Inducted into America's Cup Hall of Fame

BRISTOL, R.I. (Sept. 13, 1996) — New Zealanders Sir Peter Blake and Russell Coutts are among five America's Cup veterans to be inducted into the America's Cup Hall of Fame. Spanning more than a century of sailing history, this year's inductees also include Americans General Charles J. Paine and Chandler Hovey, and England's Frank Murdoch.

The fourth annual induction ceremony is set for Saturday, Sept. 14, following the Friday evening presentation "Winning the America's Cup" by Blake and Coutts.

Peter Blake and Russell Coutts led Team New Zealand to victory in San Diego in 1995.

General Charles Paine led three consecutive Boston-based America's Cup defense syndicates: 1885 (Puritan), 1886 (Mayflower), and 1887 (Volunteer). Saturday's activities, which are sponsored by Rolex Watch U.S.A., will include the opening of a new exhibit, "Keep Astern: An Exhibit on General Charles J. Paine."

Chandler Hovey organized the effort to build and race the 12-meter Easterner during the America's Cup defender trials in 1958, 1962 and 1964. He was also raced Yankee in the 1934 and 1937 defender trials.

Frank Murdoch is considered the genious behind Sir T.O.M. Sopwith's two America's Cup challengers, Endeavour and Endeavour |, which raced in 1934 and 1937, respectively.

For additional information, see the America's Cup History section.


Web site sponsored by:

Official Sponsors
Ford/Visteon | Hewlett-Packard Company | Telcordia Technologies | SAIC |
United Technologies

Official Supporting Sponsors
Air New Zealand | Line7 | LYCOS | Network Solutions

Select Here to View Official Suppliers

Select Here to View Team Suppliers

Copyright © 1996-1999, AmericaOne